On God our Father

My baby turns 10 months old today. He has been walking, unsteadily, for about a week. He was taking 2 or 3 steps for a couple of weeks before that. Last Tuesday evening, I saw a change in his thinking. He *chose* to walk across a small space where the day before he would have crawled. I announced to DH that he was now officially walking. And, of course, even though we’ve watched his two older siblings go through the same sequence of development, even though all babies do it, we were still proud and delighted. We grinned at him and each other as if he’d aced his final rocket surgery exam, instead of something every healthy child masters within their first eighteen months.

But as far as I know, the next day he didn’t walk a single step. He crawled everywhere. Was I disappointed? No! Did I love him any less? No, of course not! Did I delight in him as much as ever? Yes, indeed! I rejoice over him because he is my child. I love to watch my children grow and develop, but I’m happy for them to do so in their own time and their own way. Each faltering step pleases me, without by any means implying displeasure at the lack of a step.

In the same way, I believe that God is pleased with each attempt we make to obey him or to honour him – stumbling, fumbling or outright useless as they may be… without suggesting for a moment that he is displeased when we don’t make those attempts, or when we fail. God is love and he loves us outrageously. All. The. Time.

About Claire

I'm part-time stay-at-home mum to 3 children under 10. We're trying to raise them with the gentleness and creativity God uses with us. I'm also a part-time nurse and a volunteer breastfeeding advocate. We live not far from the beach or the bush in NW Tasmania.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On God our Father

  1. ptgauthor says:

    Yes God loves us all the time. But sometimes He does let us know, in no uncertain terms, that He is displeased with us. I am talking about converted Christians in God’s Church.

    “I know your works, that you are neither cold nor hot. I could wish you were cold or hot. So then, because you are lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will vomit you out of My mouth” (Revelation 3:15-16). Christ is speaking to the Church in this passage (Revelation 3:22).

Leave a Reply

